Film Review: Red Hot Chili Peppers - Lollapalooza Chile 2018

powered by social2s



Lollapalooza Chile 2018








During my senior year of high school in 1996, I was lucky enough to catch Red Hot Chili Peppers at The United Center in Chicago while they were on tour for their One Hot Minute album. They put on a show like none other I had seen up to that point, blending their biggest hits of the era (“Under The Bridge,” “Give It Away,” “My Friends,” “Aeroplane, etc.) with a shot of their funky influences when they covered George Clinton and the Parliament to give us a full spectrum view of who the band is.

A lot has changed for the group since those days. They’ve released several multi-platinum albums, landed so many singles at the #1 slot on the charts that I’ve lost count, and have become a worldwide phenom partially due to their headlining 5 different Lollapalooza festivals – including their 2018 slot in Santiago, Chile that we’re looking at today!

With cell phones lighting the air above the crowd, the iconic group (sans front man Anthony Kiedis) hit the stage and offered up a dose of funk with a quick instrumental jam, if only to further rev up the crowd for when Kiedis bounced onto stage as they dropped into the first notes of “Can’t Stop.”

They rolled through the hits at the start of their set with “Dani California,” “Scar Tissue,” and “Dark Neccessities,” that latter which during Kiedis got the crowd jumping along with him as he danced across the front of the stage throughout the intro.

The crowd continued to jump along with their cover of The Stooges “I Wanna Be Your Dog,” lit up with a bounce of excitement during “Go Robot,” brought their energy to “Suck My Kiss,” and went completely wild with Flea as he slapped the funk into “Hump de Bump.” 

There were several moments throughout this performance that allowed each individual band member to showcase their particular instrument, whether it was Chad Smith’s spotlighted drum solo after “Can’t Stop,” or jam sessions that focused on Flea and Josh Kinghoffer at the end of “Dani California” and “Go Robot.”

While Josh Klinghoffer is no longer with the group today, and it’s certainly great to have John Frusciante back with them, he did provide a stellar moment in the set when the band returned to the stage for their encore and he gave a solo performance of Jeff Buckley’s “Lover, You Should’ve Come Over.”

There’s always been a cool factor about a Red Hot Chili Peppers during their live performances and this one was no different. They didn’t pause too much between songs and mess around, but rather they delivered a pretty complete showcase of their vast catalog and gave a full picture of who they are as a band – just as they did back in 1996 when I first saw them!


1. Can’t Stop

2. Dani California

3. Scar Tissue

4. Dark Necessities

5. Strip My Mind

6. I Wanna Be Your Dog

7. Right On Time

8. Go Robot

9. Californication

10. Don’t Forget Me

11. If

12. Hump de Bump

13. Suck My Kiss

14. Soul to Squeeze

15. By The Way

16. Lover, You Should’ve Come Over

17. Goodbye Angels

18. Give It Away


Add comment

Security code